Vital | Flows at SPACE, Hackney

interactiveplanting-495x330

A couple of weeks ago, I exhibited a Vital | Flows Smorgasbord as part of the London Creative Network showcase at SPACE in Hackney, London.

overview-495x330

UCL MAPS have covered the Vital | Flows exhibition in some depth on their Faculty blog.

The exhibition showed my artistic outputs from the processes I’m open sourcing as part of the Vital project. My interpretations included these Sensual Eating Talismans, which are designed to evoke our multi-sensory experience of the transmutation of matter that we conceive of as food. They draw on the D.H. Lawrence poem Mystic, shared with me by poet Simon Barraclough in response to early work on the talismans.

talismans2-495x330

I’m currently part way through the first test of taking these artistic research methods into the community with my students as part of my CSARC course at UCL Arts and Sciences  BASc. The Vital website will be populated with more content as this first iteration moves forwards.

The students are based at NewVIc in Newham. Last week we ran our first workshop with them, a thoroughly enjoyable experience for all of us. I even overheard one student telling Dr Flanagan, his teacher, “That was awesome, Miss.” NewVIc also wrote a nice blog about the workshops.

 

 

Leave a Reply

