Painting for Hoi Yu

Img_0694

Here's a picture of the painting I recently finished for my friend Hoi Yu, who made my new bike, Nike.

Hoi has been a great help and inspiration in a lot of my bike-related art, and I thought it apt to create for him his own piece of bike art as a birthday present. This was painted on a piece of cloth that Hoi had used a couple of years ago to wrap up parts that he gave me for sculptures. The pattern left by the grease was so appealing and evocative that I was compelled to use it as the basis of this joyful, organic composition. The frame we found on the streets of East London, a veritable goldmine for reclaimed material.

Just remains to say: thanks Hoi! Glad you like it 🙂
Leave a Reply

