Critical Mass and Graffiti

On my way home last night I ran into a Critical Mass ride at the junction of Goswell and Clerkenwell Roads in London to commemorate the passing of a cyclist there a couple of weeks ago. I saw the accident scene just after it had happened, and I joined the ride for a while. When I went further on my way, I saw some graffiti opposite Rich Mix on Bethnal Green Road. Especially after the CM ride, I was struck by the starkness of it. In large and uncomplicated writing, a panel fence of the building site screamed for “Justice for Ian Tomlinson”. There’s a change in the air. There are shops closing down, there are people losing jobs, people losing hours, losing pay. We’re getting angrier, and we’re getting more active. Sometimes, just sometimes, I get back my hope that maybe we can effect a change. Maybe now the time is right. Something’s coming.

Leave a Reply

